VFX Supervisor, Director, DP, President: Entity FX

Mat Beck, ASC, is a visual effects supervisor, producer, cinematographer and director known for his work on over 60 motion pictures, numerous TV shows, commercials and music videos.

Beck started out shooting personal films and documentary footage, then began designing  and programming digital tools for the VFX industry, including what was likely the first  microcomputer motion control system. At the same time, he worked as a camera operator, eventually progressing to Director of Photography and VFX supervisor. Beck founded Light Matters, Inc. in 1994, was original partner of Pixel Envy, and founded Entity FX in 2002. Entity's Canadian subsidiary, Entity FX North, just celebrated its 5th anniversary.

Mat has worked on such notable films as Titanic, The Abyss, Moonstruck, X-Files: The Movie, True Lies, Galaxy Quest, Batman Returns and The Nutty Professor, among others. Since founding Entity FX in 2002, Mat has supervised visual effects for such feature projects as Miami Vice, Scary Movie 4, Hitch, The Aviator, Spider-Man 2, Herbie: Fully Loaded, Sweet Home Alabama, The Air I Breathe, Rush Hour 3, Into the Wild, The Spirit, Law Abiding Citizen, The Final Destination: 3D, Conviction, Michael Jackson's This Is It, I am Number Four, Fright Night, and U2 - From the Sky Down.

On the television side, Mat has produced and/or executive supervised visual effects for many ground breaking series, including The Vampire Diaries, Smallville, Breaking Bad, and X-Files as well as, most recently, Charlie's Angels and the Secret Circle Pilot. He has also supervised effects for HBO's Six Feet Under, Entourage and Band of Brothers. Mat is also an experienced director, having led multiple second units on feature and television projects, as well as directing an episode of Smallville.

Mat has been nominated for VES and ATAS awards and has won two Emmy awards. In addition to the VES, where he served on the board for 6 years, Mat is a member of The American Society of Cinematographers (serving on the Tech Committee), The Academy of Motion Pictures Arts & Sciences (Executive Committee), The Academy of Television Arts & Sciences, The International Cinematographers Guild (Local 600), The Directors Guild of America and The Writers Guild of America.

Speaker years: