Navigating Virtual Production2020-12-02T11:05:49-08:00

VES Virtual Production Series

The Visual Effects Society, in collaboration with the VES Technology Committee and the industry’s Virtual Production Committee, have assembled a series of conversations around Virtual Production. These online events will bring together diverse members of the film, TV, animation and games communities to discuss why they are committed to Virtual Production and how the technology is helping to solve new creative challenges.

Intersection Between Camera, VFX & Lighting for Virtual Production

Friday, November 20, 2020 at 9:00AM (PST), 12:00PM (EST),5:00PM (GMT),6:00PM (CET)

Join the VES, ASC, Camerimage and the Virtual Production Committee for a conversation on the intersection between camera, VFX and lighting as they pertain to Virtual Production, brought to you by Netflix.

Confirmed panelists include Cinematographer Caleb Deschanel, ASC who’s won the VES Award for his work on THE LION KING, ASC’s and Camerimage’s Lifetime Achievement Awards as well as an ASC Award for his work on THE PATRIOT; Visual Effects Supervisor Rob Legato, ASC, winner of 7 VES Awards, 3 Oscars for his work on THE JUNGLE BOOK, HUGO and TITANIC, 2 BAFTAs and 2 Emmys, Lighting Director and VES member Samuel Maniscalco is a who’s worked on THE LION KING, GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY VOL. 2, THE JUNGLE BOOK and others, USC School of Cinematic Arts Professor and George Méliès Endowed Chair in Visual Effects Michael Fink, VES who’s won an Oscar and a BAFTA for his work on THE GOLDEN COMPASS, Unity Technologies Head of Development Habib Zargarpour who’s won the VES Award for Real-Time Visuals in a Video Game as well as 2 BAFTAs and 2 Oscar nominations for his work on THE PERFECT STORM and TWISTER as well as Epic Games Business Development Manager Miles Perkins who worked on IRON MAN, the STAR TREK reboot and many more, moderated by Director of Emerging Technology at The Mill Boo Wong.

Click here to watch the replay!

Caleb Deschanel  
(bio)

Rob Legato
(bio)

Samuel Maniscalco
(bio)

Michael Fink
(bio)

Habib Zargarpour  
(bio)

Miles Perkins
(bio)

Boo Wong
(bio)

Navigating the Changing Landscape of Virtual Production

Monday, August 4, 2020

Panelists include Business Development Manager for The Third Floor Lara Cawsey, award-winning Director Mark Osborne, Epic Games Business Development Manager Miles Perkins, President & CEO of Aaron Sims Creative Aaron Sims, Director of Emerging Technology at The Mill Boo Wong with moderation by Netflix Director of Virtual Production Girish Balakrishnan.

Click here to watch the replay!

Lara Cawsey
(bio)

Mark Osborne
(bio)

Miles Perkins
(bio)

Aaron Sims
(bio)

Boo Wong
(bio)

Girish Balakrishnan
(bio)

In Collaboration With